Live music alfresco-style in Northeast Ohio

13015428 571849032976805 7036037625782708896 N
Gandalf’s takes advantage of its environs and the warm weather between Memorial Day and Labor Day when live music takes center stage on the patio.

By Sean Lackey, Gandalf's Pub & Restaurant

There is something special about being outdoors that adds both an extra pep in our step and, at the same time, makes us relaxed. 

Whether a canopy of bright blue skies during a sunny day or a dark black canvas with glimmering stars at night, the sky provides the perfect backdrop when dining on summer fare or sipping a cocktail.

At Gandalf’s Pub & Restaurant, the tree-shaded patio is especially inviting, as it is located adjacent to the historic home, which was built in the late 1800s and now turned into a restaurant.

Gandalf’s takes advantage of its environs and the warm weather between Memorial Day and Labor Day when live music takes center stage on the patio.

Featuring a blend of music genres—from acoustic guitar to country, rock, folk and blues—Gandalf’s hosts live entertainment every Saturday night, with several other special events sprinkled in:

MAY
  • Saturday, May 26 - Dean and Chad

JUNE
  • Friday, June 1 - Pat Shepard
  • Saturday, June 2 – Jay Wonkovich
  • Saturday, June 9 – Lego Legros
  • Saturday, June 16 – Jake Richardson
  • Saturday, June 23 – Sarena Tamburitza
  • Sunday, June 24 – New Barley Corn
  • Friday, June 29 – Live Irish music with Shindig
  • Saturday, June 30 – Dean and Chad

JULY
  • Saturday, July 7 – Lego Legros
  • Friday, July 20 – Styles Haury
  • Saturday, July 21 – Jake Richardson
  • Sunday, July 29 – New Barley Corn

AUGUST
  • Saturday, August 4 – Jay Wonkovich
  • Sunday, August 5 – Jim and Eroc
  • Saturday, August 11 – Lego Legros
  • Saturday, August 18 – Styles Haury
  • Saturday, August 25 – Jake Richardson

SEPTEMBER
  • Sunday, September 2 - New Barley Corn


While listening to music, you can order from the extensive restaurant and cocktail menu.

During the summer, the mixologists make their own bitters from herbs grown in the restaurant’s garden and use freshly grown mint in the cocktails. There are dozens of beers on tap, and a sommelier selects wines from around the globe to provide customers different drink options.

Gandalf’s Pub & Restaurant is located at 6757 Center Road in Valley City. Dining hours are Tuesday and Wednesday, 11:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.; Thursday, 11:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.; Friday and Saturday, 11:30 a.m. to midnight; and Sunday, 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. For more information, call 330-483-1190 or visit GandalfsPub.com